14th International Symposium on Fire Safety Science, IAFSS2023, Tsukuba, Japan



The Howard W. Emmons Invited Plenary Lectureship

David Purser, UK

(short bio)

Kunio Kawagoe Gold Medal

Gunnar Heskestad, USA

(short bio)

◆ Early Career Award

Proulx Early Career Award

Ryan Falkenstein-Smith, NIST, USA

(short bio)

Magnusson Early Career Award

Thomas Gernay, Johns Hopkins University, USA

(short bio)

◆ Best Thesis Awards

Asia / Pacific:

Xiepeng Sun ─ USTC, China, joint PhD with Ghent University, Belgium

Europe / Africa:

Li Ma ─ Aix-Marseille University, Électricité de France (EDF), France


Parham Dehghani ─ University of Maryland, USA

Call for Nomination  (closed)

IAFSS Awards committee are looking for candidates for several awards to be presented at the 14th International Symposium on Fire Safety Science, Tsukuba, Japan, 22-27 Oct., 2023. Awards and the due dates are summarized as follows.

  • Kunio Kawagoe Gold Medal – Nominations Due 31 Oct., 2022
  • Proulx and Magnusson Early Career Awards – Nominations Due 30 Sep., 2022
  • Best Thesis Award “Excellence in Research” – Nominations Due 1 Oct., 2022
  • Philip Thomas Medal of Excellence
  • Dougal Drysdale Award for Extraordinary Service to the IAFSS
  • Sheldon Tieszen Student Awards Sponsored by the FORUM

For detail, please see attached file (PDF).

(posted on 9 Sep., 2022)